Skip to content

Even handbags can be an inspiration!

June 14, 2010

Hi all!

This week we are only making two cakes – I know, I know.  Slow week!  Lol

One of our cakes was inspired by a handbag.  My colleague, Pat, is having her birthday on June 14th, and when I had to decide what to make her (as the designated cake maker on the team – go figure!) I looked to her extensive Vera Bradley handbag collection for help.

Pat has so many Vera Bradley bags, I am sure she must be a stock holder!  Her collection includes pocket books, laptop cases, suitcases, make-up bags, wallets, and more.  But her daily bag is the Maggie handbag in the “Botanica” print, so I decided to go with that one.

The cake was actually simpler to do than it appears.  I covered the base in black, like the bag’s background, and then hand cut and painted the flowers and leaves and attached them to the base.  The result was awesome and I think Pat will love it, especially since the inside is our ever-popular pistachio!

Check out the inspiration bag and the resulting cake below!

Happy baking!

Christina

https://i0.wp.com/www.handbagsagogo.com/images/vera-bradley-go.jpg

The inspiration: Vera Bradley's Maggie handbag in "Botanica".

The cake!

The top

Side 1

Side 2

Side 3

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

