Skip to content

New Feature: Recipe Sharing

February 23, 2010

Meghan and I are always on the hunt for new recipes to add to our repertoire.  We have some tried-and-true favorites that always get us rave reviews, so we decided to share some with you periodically under one condition:

You must reciprocate with yummy recipes of your own for us to try too!

To uphold our end of the bargain, here is our first one. 

My mom, Nancy, gave this recipe to me.  She used to make it when I was a child.  I remember thinking the green color was gross but it only took one taste and I was hooked!  When I was old enough to bake on my own and asked for the recipe, I was surprised to see that my from-scratch mom was using a recipe that called for boxed cake mix.  Another surprise was the club soda.  I have come to learn that the club soda helps make the cake light and fluffy, which this cake most certainly is!  In a pinch, I have substituted seltzer for club soda, and I have even tried making the yellow cake from scratch, but honestly, there is no difference in taste whatsoever so you might as well keep life simple and use the boxed cake mix!

Happy baking!

Christina & Meghan

Nancy’s Pistachio Cake: 

Ingredients:

1 box Duncan Hines yellow or white cake mix

4 eggs

½ cup oil (vegetable or canola)

1 cup club soda

1 tablespoon pure almond extract

1 cup well-chopped walnuts

2 boxes pistachio pudding (dry)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray two 9-inch cake pans with Bakers Joy (or generously butter pans and sprinkle with flour, tapping out excess).  Set aside.

Mix eggs and oil add cake mix, club soda, almond extract, and pistachio pudding in a large bowl. Mix until smooth.  Stir in walnuts by hand.  Pour batter into prepared pans. 

Bake 30-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of each cake comes out clean. Cool on wire racks for 10 minutes.  Loosen sides.  Remove cakes from pans.  Cool cake layers thoroughly on wire racks.

Filling/Frosting:

1 box pistachio pudding

2 cups heavy cream

Pour ingredients into a medium bowl and beat on medium speed until smooth and forms soft peaks.  Do not over beat!!!

To assemble, place 1 cake layer on a serving plate.  Spread layer with about ½ cup of filling.  Top with second layer.  Spread top and sides with remaining frosting.  Store frosted cake, covered, in refrigerator.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Big T permalink
    February 24, 2010 8:13 AM

    Carrot, pistacchio, good old-fashioned chocolate cake all delicious and a real perk of babysitting at Christina’s home.
    One of the fun things at any gathering is the anticpation of what yummy treat will be awaiting guests come dessert time. An old favorite or something new, they are always out of this world.

  2. Annamaria permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:00 AM

    Christina baked a delicious and gorgeous cake for my baby shower. She had both white and chocolate cake to meet all partygoers’ preferences and the cake was fresh and decadent. The icing was smooth and creamy and the presentation was the icing on the cake — no pun intended. I highly recommend Christina’s cakes for any occasion where you want to make a great impression!!!

    • March 5, 2010 10:41 AM

      Wow! Thanks, Annamaria! It was certainly my pleasure and I am so glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you and the baby soon! 🙂

  3. ELLA permalink
    February 26, 2010 3:40 PM

    I have made your Pistachio cake and loved it! It was simple to make and delicious. By the way, I love the green color, maybe because green has always been my favorite color! I have been to many gatherings where Christina has brought dessert. What a treat! Her cakes have been fantastic to look at and again always delicious. I wish the two of you luck with your venture, it’s about time!
    I know that I need to share a recipe with you, so look for it it the near future.

Leave a Reply

